CCCS Employees Honored Virtually at Annual Recognition Ceremony


March 10, 2021 (Denver, CO) – Today, the Colorado Community College System (CCCS) honored over 56 employees from its 13 colleges and system office, in four categories: Administrator, Classified, Faculty, and Adjunct-Instructor. Honorees represent unique talents, skills, perspectives, and heart needed to deliver high-quality college programs, supportive services, and safe environments to thousands of students across the state and beyond.

Click here to view the 2021 CCCS Commitment to Excellence Awards presentation.

“CCCS’s Commitment to Excellence Awards provides an opportunity to say “thank you” to our dynamic and innovative employees who play a critical role in helping our system achieve its mission of transforming lives and communities through education and workforce training,” said Joe Garcia, chancellor of the Colorado Community College System. “The collective work of all our employees is truly transformational, and I am inspired – especially now – as they continue to meet hardship with care, resourcefulness, and innovation to help students through these trying times, as well as care for one another.”

CCCS’s Commitment to Excellence Awards provides an opportunity to say ‘thank you’ to our dynamic and innovative employees who play a critical role in helping our system achieve its mission of transforming lives and communities through education and workforce training.
- Chancellor Joe Garcia
The event, normally hosted in March at the Governor’s Residence at the Boettcher Mansion, was celebrated virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Honorees received a personalized award package from CCCS with the support of event sponsor Colorado Public Employees Retirement Association (Colorado PERA).

“We are proud to partner with CCCS and sponsor the recognition of these deserving employees who exemplify excellence and service in higher education,” said Ron Baker, executive director at Colorado PERA. “The impact of these professionals is critical in shaping our state’s workforce and economic future.”

“It is truly heart-warming to be honored alongside so many colleagues from across the community college system who have dedicated their careers to advancing individuals, families, and communities through education,” said Tina Zhao, Assistant Chemistry Professor and Faculty of the Year at Community College of Denver. “We all share a common passion to provide students with the tools, services, and environment they need to be successful long after they leave our institution.”

Click here to view digital program with honoree snap shots.

2021 CCCS Commitment to Excellence Award Honorees:

(Order of categories listed by College: Administrator, Classified, Faculty, Adjunct-Instructor)

Arapahoe Community College

  • Jennifer Husum
  • Delcia Garcia
  • Monica Fuglei
  • Rebecca Terpstra
CCCS System Office

  • Greg Busch
  • Martin Ramirez
  • Magdalena Sokolowski – CCCOnline Adjunct-Instructor Award

Colorado Northwestern Community College

  • Jessica Wollman
  • Angie Kenney
  • Tiffany Douglas
  • Dwaine Chesser

Community College of Aurora

  • LeeDel Cohenour
  • Kacey Turner
  • Brandon Williams
  • Ayse Durmus

Community College of Denver

  • Chris Arcarese
  • Spring Johnson
  • Tina Zhao
  • Amanda O’Sullivan

Front Range Community College

  • Heather Frost
  • Janet Clark
  • Susan Faltinson
  • Laura Wally

Lamar Community College

  • Annessa Stagner Stulp
  • Kyle Kurtz
  • Doug Cash
  • Debbie Elam

Morgan Community College

  • Andrea Ertle
  • Sandy Johnson
  • Lynne Collins
  • Andrew Hayes

Northeastern Junior College

  • Timothy Stahley
  • Kelli Moe
  • Amanda Kerker
  • Mary Smith

Otero Community College

  • Sarah Petramala
  • All Otero Physical Plant Staff
  • Becky Sporrer
  • Catherine Bollacker

Pikes Peak Community College

  • Chelle Martinez
  • Erica Fuller
  • Carrie Baldwin
  • Nate Wadman

Pueblo Community College

  • Bonnie Housh
  • Debbie Clement
  • Marianne Horvath
  • Nancy Hunt
  • Jamie Patti – Jerome Wartgow Teaching with Technology Award
Red Rocks Community College

  • Jon Johnson
  • Bobby Asher
  • All Red Rocks Faculty
  • Marcey Kern

Trinidad State Junior College

  • Al Malespini
  • Francisco Lucas
  • Kay Evans
  • Terri Herbstritt




About the Colorado Community College System

The Colorado Community College System (CCCS) is the state’s largest system of higher education, delivering more than 1,000 programs to over 125,000 students annually through 13 colleges and 38 locations across Colorado. Our open access mission ensures all Coloradans who aspire to enrich their lives have access to quality higher education opportunities. The System Office provides leadership, advocacy and support to the colleges under the direction of the State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education (SBCCOE). Join us in changing the way Colorado goes to college. Learn more at

About Colorado PERA

Colorado PERA provides retirement and other benefits to more than 580,000 current and former educators, first responders, public safety officers, road workers, and other public employees who provide valuable service to all of Colorado. PERA is a vital and stable contributor to Colorado’s economy, distributing $3.8 billion in 2016 to retirees who live in Colorado. These PERA benefit distributions support local businesses, create Colorado jobs, and are an important source of financial stability in the state economy. PERA manages $48 billion in defined benefit and defined contribution assets, and helps sustain more than 32,000 jobs statewide.

More Stories