Board & Governance

State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education

CCCS is governed by a 12-member board called the State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education (SBCCOE). Ten board members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the State Senate. There is one board member for each U.S. congressional district, plus two at-large members. No more than five members may be from any single political party. They have staggered four-year terms. The remaining two seats on the board are held by a community college faculty member and a student representative who serve in non-voting capacities for one year each.

Statewide Approving Agencies

Meet Our Board

Dr. Landon Mascareñaz


Terrance D. McWilliams

Vice Chair

Rollie Heath

Immediate Past Chair

Dr. Ross Dueber

Board Member

Tatiana Hernandez

Board Member

Dr. Karen McNeil-Miller

Board Member

Yolanda Ortega

Board Member

Brad Rupert

Board Member

Catherine Shull

Board Member

Steven L. Trujillo

Board Member

Dr. Catlyn Keenan

Faculty Representative

Hector Vargas

Student Representative