Perkins Collaborative Resource Network

Colorado will use federal investment to offer students multiple pathways to success

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos announced on June 19, 2020, that the Department of Education has approved six career and technical education (CTE) plans for Colorado, Florida, Kentucky, New York, South Carolina and Utah. These are the latest states to have their CTE plans approved under the new, bipartisan Strengthening Career and Technical Education for the 21st Century Act (Perkins V).

“Colorado CTE is thrilled that our Perkins V State Plan was approved as it contains many innovative practices that will move CTE across Colorado forward,” said Sarah Heath, Associate Vice Chancellor Career & Technical Education. “Our Innovation Sub grants will enable colleges and districts around the state to have an infusion of funds to achieve specific projects for their CTE programs and students that are beyond their formula grant. We cannot wait to share the outcomes of these grants in Summer 2021.”

Perkins V encourages states and territories to expand opportunities for every student to access educational opportunities that will put them on the path to success. Each state crafted a plan to fulfill its promise of offering a robust CTE option for students following consultation with its key constituents representing education and workforce, business and industry, and parents and community partners.

Below are some noteworthy elements from Colorado’s plan:

  • Uses discretionary funds to incentivize collaboration, innovative problem solving, and scaling of best practices aligned to its state’s strategic plan for CTE.
  • Supports sharing fiscal resources among secondary and postsecondary partners to further enhance CTE programs and opportunities for learners.
  • Leverages economic development regions to engage secondary-postsecondary partnerships in CTE program development.

Additional details about Colorado’s approved plan can be found on the Department’s website.