Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is an international honor society that celebrates the academic achievements of students at community colleges, provides opportunities for students to grow as scholars and leaders, and recognizes those pursing a transfer pathway to a 4-year institution or a workforce pathway. Across Colorado there are hundreds of PTK members.

Top Honors Awarded to High-Achieving PTK Students 

The All-Colorado Academic Team recognizes a select few PTK students, not only for their academic achievements, but also for their commitment to making their college and community better by giving back. Through their participation in PTK, each of these students has dedicated additional time outside of their busy schedules to volunteer in service-learning opportunities at their college. These experiences, not only connect them to their community, but also give the students a platform to develop their leadership and interpersonal skills, transforming them into true change-makers. These students received medallions and personalized proclamations signed by Governor Jared Polis.

The All-Colorado Academic Team members are also eligible to compete for a spot on the PTK All-USA Academic Team, and over $500,000 in scholarships.

“Our 2019 inductees should feel a great sense of pride for their hard work and commitment to making their communities a better place,” said Colorado Community College System Chancellor Joe Garcia. “They not only represent Colorado at the national level, they also represent our system, embody our values, and by virtue of their accomplishments, they help fulfill our mission.”


View this year’s honorees and program here.2019 PTK Program


New Century & Coca-Cola Scholarship Honorees

Among the 40 members chosen this year, there were six PTK students who were additionally recognized for their outstanding achievement in areas relating to leadership, academic merit, and positive community engagement.

The New Century Workforce Pathway Scholarship and the New Century Transfer Pathway Scholarships were awarded to two students for receiving the highest All-USA Academic Team application scores in Colorado.

  • Holly Carter, from Otero Junior College, as the Workforce Scholar
  • Barbara Wilson, from Pueblo Community College, as the Transfer Scholar

The Coca-Cola Academic Team recognizes high achieving two-year college students who demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends their education beyond the classroom to benefit society. This year’s Coca-Cola scholars are:

  • Noelle Mayer, Arapahoe Community College, Gold Scholar
  • Robert Mastronardi, Community College of Denver, Gold Scholar
  • Ryan Holmes, Arapahoe Community College, Bronze Scholar


This event was sponsored by the Credit Union of Colorado.


credit union of Colorado