BP 9-72 – Transfer of Credits from Area Technical Colleges

State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education

BP 9-72

APPROVED: December 8, 2004
REVISED: December 9, 2015
REVISED: August 11, 2021

REFERENCE: C.R.S. 23-60-802

/ S.R. Heath Jr. /
The Honorable S.R. Heath, Jr., Chair

Policy Statement

The State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education is required by law to implement a policy to ensure the transfer of post-secondary credits from Area Technical Colleges to any institution within the state system of community and technical colleges. Credits transferred in “…will apply in full…to an appropriate program leading to a certificate or to an associate degree at a community or technical college…” (See C.R.S. 23-60-802). Further, the Higher Learning Commission requires institutions to develop and publish transfer policies for accepting transfer credits from other institutions.


This policy applies to Career and Technical Education post-secondary credits that are offered by Emily Griffith Technical College, Technical College of the Rockies, and Pickens Area Technical College (“Area Technical Colleges”). It further covers the transfer of these credits to appropriate programs at all Colorado Community College System (CCCS) member institutions. This policy does not apply to secondary credits.

Transcripting of Transfer Credit

CCCS institutions will accept all post-secondary credit in transfer from students who have attended any of the three Area Technical Colleges in Colorado. The acceptance of these credits, the application of these credits toward degree requirements, and the transcripting of these credits will be consistent with the transfer policies of CCCS.


The Chancellor shall promulgate such procedures as may be needed to implement the policy.